Occupational License

An occupational license, also called an essential need license, is a special type of restricted license issued to individuals whose driver license has been suspended, revoked or denied for certain offenses other than medical or delinquent child support.

NOTE: Individuals may still qualify for an occupational license even if their driver license has been suspended for surcharges.

An occupational license authorizes the operation of a non-commercial motor vehicle in connection with an individual's:

- 1. Work,
- 2. School-related activities, or
- 3. Performance of essential household duties.

Request an Occupational License

Requests for an occupational license must be made to the county or district court where the individual lives or to the court of original jurisdiction where the offense occurred.

If the county or district court determines the individual is eligible to apply for an occupational license, then a court order will be issued. The court order is not the occupational license. A court order is only the order which authorizes the Department of Public Safety (DPS) to issue the occupational license.

Issuance of an Occupational License

The court order and all required items must be submitted to DPS before an occupational license will be issued. The court order may be used as a driver license for 30 days from the date of the judge's signature while the request for an occupational license is processed.

Individuals must submit the following items to DPS:

- 1. A certified copy of the petition and a certified copy of the court order granting the occupational license.
 - a. The judge has the authority to grant an occupational order.
 - b. If the individual is participating in a special drug court program, then the petition is not required.

- 2. A Financial Responsibility Insurance Certificate (SR-22).
- 3. Payment of the occupational license fee.
 - a. An occupational license is typically issued for one year or less; the maximum length of issuance is two years.
 - b. The court must grant the issuance of an occupational license beyond one year.
- 4. Payment of reinstatement fees.

DPS Mailing Address, Fax Number and Email Information

Mailing Address: Texas Department of Public Safety

Enforcement and Compliance Service

P.O. Box 4087

Austin, TX 78773-0320

Fax Number: 512-424-2848

Email: driver.improvement@dps.texas.gov

Waiting Periods

An occupational license is issued once the request is processed unless one of the following situations applies:

- The individual's driver license was previously suspended as a result of an alcohol- or drug-related offense then there is a 90-day waiting period.
- 2. The individual's driver license was in suspension as a result of an intoxication-related conviction then there is a 180-day waiting period.
- There are at least two administrative license revocations on the individual's driver record then a mandatory one-year waiting period applies.

Individuals Not Eligible

If an individual's driving privilege is currently suspended, revoked, cancelled or denied under any law in the State of Texas, then an occupational license will not be issued to operate a commercial driver license.

Driver Eligibility Status

For individuals who are required to submit compliance documents (i.e. certificate of completion, SR-22, etc.), their driver eligibility status will change from "ineligible" to "eligible" on the **License Eligibility** website once all documents have been processed and fees have been paid.

Financial Responsibility Insurance Certificate (SR-22)

A Financial Responsibility Insurance Certificate (SR-22) is a type of motor vehicle liability insurance. An SR-22 can be issued by most insurance providers and certifies that an individual has the minimum liability insurance as required by law. An insurance provider will automatically notify the Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS) when an SR-22 is cancelled, terminated or lapses.

Financial Responsibility for Crash, Conviction or Judgment

Any individual whose driving privilege has been suspended or revoked as the result of a car crash, conviction or judgment is required to file an SR-22 with DPS and maintain coverage for two years starting from the date of the conviction. An insurance card or policy will not be accepted in place of an SR-22.

Authorized Insurance Providers

Individuals should contact their local insurance agent or provider to obtain an SR-22 or visit the **Texas Department of Insurance** for a complete list of providers authorized to write liability insurance for the State of Texas.

Individuals who do not own a vehicle should ask an insurance provider about a Texas Non-Owner SR-22 Insurance policy.

Cancelled, Terminated or Lapsed SR-22

An individual's driving privilege and vehicle registration may be suspended if:

- 1. An SR-22 must be maintained and the individual does not have a valid SR-22 on file with DPS, or
- DPS receives notification that an SR-22 has been cancelled, terminated or lapsed.

Driver License Reinstatement Requirements

To reinstate a driver license an individual must:

- Pay the required reinstatement fee prior to the issuance of the driver license, and
- 2. Submit an SR-22 to DPS.

DPS Mailing Address, Fax Number and Email Information

Mailing Address: Texas Department of Public Safety

Enforcement and Compliance Service

P.O. Box 4087

Austin, TX 78773-0320

Fax Number: 512-424-2848

Email: driver.improvement@dps.texas.gov

Minimum Liability Amounts

The minimum liability coverage amounts required by law are:

- \$30,000 for bodily injury to or death of one person in one accident.
- \$60,000 for bodily injury to or death of two or more persons in one accident, and
- \$25,000 for damage to or destruction of property of others in one accident.

For more information on minimum liability insurance laws, please visit the **Texas Department of Insurance**.

Driver Eligibility Status

For individuals who are required to submit compliance documents (i.e. certificate of completion, SR-22, etc.), their driver eligibility status will change from "ineligible" to "eligible" on the **License Eligibility** website once all documents have been processed and fees have been paid.

Driver License & ID Card

Driver License Fees:

*A \$1 administrative fee is included in the following fee amounts. If you are completing more than one transaction at the same time in person or online, you will only be charged this fee once. The \$1 administrative fee is not charged for transactions conducted through the mail.

License type	*Fee	Information
Driver license (Class A, B or C)		
Under 18: new	\$16	Expires on your 18th birthday
Under 18: renewal (issued before 9/20/10)	\$6	Expires on your next birthday
Age 18 to 84: new	\$25	Expires after six years (on your birthday)
Age 18 to 84: renewal	\$25	Expires six years after previous expiration date
Age 85 and older: new	\$9	Expires after two years (on your birthday)
Age 85 and older: renewal	\$9	Expires two years after previous expiration date
Disabled veterans (60%): new or renewal	Free	Requirements for fee exemption

Replacement driver license	\$11	Current expiration date does not change			
Replace a lost, stolen, or					
damaged license					
Change address or name					
Test to add or remove					
restrictions					
Learner license—under 18					
New	\$16	Expires on your 18th birthday			
Renewal (issued before 9/20/10)	\$6	Expires on your next birthday			
Motorcycle with driver license (Class AM, BM or CM)					
New—add to driver license fee	\$15	Expires when your driver license			
		expires			
		(depends on age; see driver license section)			
Renewal—add to driver license	\$8	Expires when your driver license			
renewal fee		expires			
		(depends on age; see driver license			
		section)			
Add motorcycle to existing	\$16	Expiration date on driver license			
driver license		does not change			
Motorcycle license (Class M) only					
New	\$25	Expires when your driver license			
		expires			
		(depends on age; see driver license			
		section)			
Renewal	\$33	Expiration date depends on age; see			
		driver license section			

Learner license for motorcycle (Class M) only				
Under 18	\$16	Expires on your 18th birthday		
18 and older	\$25	Expires after six years (on your		
		birthday)		
Limited term driver license	\$25	Expires when period of lawful		
For temporary visitors to the US		presence expires, or in one year if		
		lawful presence period is "duration		
		of status"		
Occupational driver license				
New or renewal	\$10	Issued up to two years		
	per	Must pay reinstatement fees first		
	year			
Add interlock restriction to	\$10	Must pay reinstatement fees first		
driver license				
Driver license for individuals registered under Chapter 62, CCP				
New or renewal	\$21	Expires one year after previous		
		expiration date		

Check Driving Eligibility & Pay Reinstatement Fees

The Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS) online License Eligibility system is available to help Texas drivers:

- Pay fees charged to you for your driver license suspension offenses
- View compliance items needed to determine and understand your license eligibility
- Track your driving eligibility status

This online service is provided by Texas.gov, the official website of Texas. The price of this service includes funds that support the ongoing operations and enhancements of Texas.gov, which is provided by a third party in partnership with the State.

This service is not for driver license renewals or duplicates. For information about these items and for other driver license questions, please visit www.txdps.state.tx.us/DriverLicense.